

#### SORRENTO SAILING COUTA BOAT CLUB INC.

Incorporated Association Registration Number A0010032B Foreshore Sorrento, Victoria, PO Box 138 Sorrento 3943 Tel: 5984 8200 Email: administration@sscbc.com.au

### **NOTICE OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING**

Notice is hereby given that the 72<sup>nd</sup> Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Sorrento Sailing Couta Boat Club Inc. (SSCBC) will be held on-line via a Zoom meeting.

### **BUSINESS OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING**

In accordance with the rules of the Club the ordinary business of the annual general meeting is as follows—

### (a) Minutes

- (i) To confirm the minutes of the 71st Annual General Meeting held on Monday June 10, 2019
- (ii) To confirm the minutes of the Special General Meeting held on Monday April 13, 2020

### (b) Reports

- (i) To receive and consider annual report of the Committee on the activities of the Club during the preceding financial year
- (ii) To receive and consider the financial statements of the Club for the preceding financial year submitted by the Committee in accordance with Part 7 of the Act.

Please note the financial statements will be available on the SSCBC website during the week preceding the AGM.

## (c) Election of Members of the Committee

### (i) To elect Officers as follows:

Commodore Graham Cunningham is retiring under Rule 54 and wishes to stand for re-election.

Vice Commodore Drew Marget is retiring from the Committee. A nomination has been received for

Georgie Silverwood to be elected as Vice Commodore.

Rear Commodore Scott Llewelyn is retiring under Rule 54 and wishes to stand for re-election.

Treasurer Shaun Chalmers is retiring under Rule 54 and wishes to stand for re-election

Secretary Nikki Schwarz is retiring under Rule 54 and wishes to stand for re-election

### (ii) To elect Committee persons as follows:

The Committee shall consist of at least three but not more than five Ordinary Members of the Committee.

The following Ordinary Committee Members retire by rotation under Rule 52 (1) and wish to stand for reelection

## **Howard Critchley / Jonathon Long**

Due to the retirement of Drew Marget from the Committee there is one Committee position vacant. A nomination for Committee membership has been received from

#### Debra Kwasnicki

The following Ordinary Members of the Committee are continuing and do not need to stand for election.

## Mark Klemens / Rollo Wright

### 5. Election of Auditor

To elect Accru Accountants, as auditors for the 2020-2021 financial year.

## 6. Honorary Life Members

In accordance with Rule 15 (5) the Committee is nominating the following members to be elected as Honorary Life Members in recognition of their longstanding contribution to the Club

## James Mighell

## **Richard Hurley**

Each of these nominations for Honorary Life Membership must be approved by not less than two thirds of the members entitled to vote and attending this meeting.

## 7. Special Resolution

The Committee proposes the following change to Rule 9 (2) (a) in relation to the nomination of a person for membership of the Club. The Committee believes that only one referee should be sufficient to support the nomination of a person for membership, rather than the current requirement for four referees. There are no other changes to Rule 9 proposed.

It is proposed that Rule 9 (2) (a) be amended to the following:

A nomination of a person for membership must be:

(a) In writing and in the form approved or accepted by the Committee from time to time:

Signed by the applicant and by a proposer, a seconder and 1 referee, who have each been a member for at least 3 years and are not a relative of the applicant; and

Note that this change to the Rules of the Club requires the approval of 75% or more of the members entitled to vote and attending this meeting.

A member entitled to vote may appoint another member as a proxy for the meeting. A copy of the approved proxy form is attached to this notice.

# 8. General Business

Presentation by Rollo Wright on the Club re-development.

By order of the Committee Nikki Schwarz SSCBC Secretary July 3, 2020