Couta Boat Presentation Night – Aggregate Season 2018/19

Congratulations to all the winners from the Couta Boat Presentation Night held at the Club on Saturday 27 April. Over 120 skippers, crew and their loved ones celebrated the summer of Couta boat sailing with a delicious dinner in the dining room, followed by short and sharp presentations and awards.

Awards were presented for the Mercedes-Benz Mornington CBA Nationals, the Passage Race series, Lacco Cup, CBA States, Gant Portsea Cup, Marcus Burke Wooden Launch Nav Rally, Gill Next Gen Couta Boat Race and the Sam Byrne & Ted Silbereisen Memorial Trophies.

The Bernie Ross Award for their contribution to Couta boat sailing / Club person of the year was awarded to Mark Lloyd and Tonia Grimshaw-Lloyd.

The Yanmar Trophy to the most improved Couta boat in Div 1 went to: Leeuwin C134 Merv Baird (accepted by Bronwyn McIlveen and Peter George) and Div 2 went to Peter Pan C150 Andrew Gray.

The Ralph Wilson Award for the best trier in a Couta boat was awarded to: Graeme Mee (Gisella C1789) accepted by Fiona McLean.

The major Club Champion Awards were presented as follows:

Aggregate Series Handicap – Division 1 – Zephyr C2006 Max Chester

Aggregate Series Handicap – Division 2 – Lucy C31 Michael Golding (impressively dressed for the occasion)

Aggregate Series Line Honours – Division 1 – Jocelyn C2014 Mal Hart

Aggregate Series Line Honours – Division 2 – Morning Star C157 Rhys Tucker